AIDS, the silent killer of the black community

I assumed Dr. Ronald Ferguson, senior pastor at Antioch Church of God in Harlem, was misquoted in Thursday’s New York Daily News.

I thought, “No way did a member of the clergy say ‘God does not want to see homosexuals in our parks.’ “

I didn’t think it was possible for a man working in New York City, with the letters “D” and “R” in front of his name, to compare homosexuality to pedophilia and bestiality. (“If children start to believe it is OK to be gay, they will think it’s OK to be a pedophile or have sex with animals.”)

I found it completely ridiculous to even think a black pastor’s response to a gay pride event in 2011 would be to stay inside his house.

I didn’t believe any of it, so I called Antioch Church.

Four times.

With two different phones.

Each time that I said I was with CNN, the person on the other end hung up.

I guess I have no choice but to believe that what I read was true. That while the black community continues to get hammered in the media as being more homophobic than any other group, and while the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found that blacks account for nearly half of all new HIV infections, Ferguson is taking this opportunity to stick his head in the sand.

And vilify gay people.

If this is how he loves thy neighbor, I’m scared to see what his “hate thy neighbor” looks like.

Same goes for Mount Olivet Baptist Church Pastor Charles Curtis, who was quoted in the story saying, “The park is a family area, and the homosexual agenda will do nothing but harm the community.” I called Mount Olivet, but the pastor wasn’t in.

I just wanted to ask Curtis how many gay people he’s met that didn’t come from a family, because I haven’t met one. I was also hoping to borrow his copy of the “homosexual agenda,” because mine must be lost in the mail.

In any case, I just hope for the sake of their respective congregations that instead of hurling insults from the pulpit each Sunday morning, these clergymen are talking about one of the real harms to the community — our silence.

It’s been 30 years this week since the CDC brought the language of HIV/AIDS to the public’s consciousness.

It’s been 20 years since Magic Johnson courageously brought the reality of HIV/AIDS to the black community.

Source

1 Comment

Filed under HIV/AIDS

One response to “AIDS, the silent killer of the black community

  1. robbie

    These pastors are to blame for the HIV/AIDS statistics among black people – Bishop Eddie Long is an example.

Leave a Reply

